I guess

I guess I’m the type to find

comfort in telling white lies,

in numbing the pain

by dulling the knife

that is my tongue.

Preventing myself from choking on the blood of my mouth.

 

And I guess it’s a beautiful moment

to speak of a lie that’s harsher than truth-

to be caught saying goodbye without living

its meaning.

 

And I love saying goodbye to you when

I know we’re going to end up talking

again in 5 minutes.

 

I guess its a branch of a feeling- one

similar to the crack in our voices

when we’re texting in blue and white and pink,

when we say we’re doing just fine to cheer

the other person up.

Leave a Reply

