a happy poem.

This is my happy poem.

This isn’t my
sex and gender aren’t the same fucking thing
poem.

This isn’t my
I can’t believe I’m still fucking protesting this shit
poem.

This isn’t my
I’m scared of people
poem.

This isn’t my
I hate everyone
poem.

This is my happy poem.

This isn’t my
I found out I was queer at the age of 9
poem.

This isn’t my
I begged god to kill me at the age of 10
poem

This isn’t my
I tried to kill myself at the age of 11
poem.

This isn’t my
I had to wear long sleeves for three summers in a row to hide my self-harm scars
poem.

This is my happy poem.

This isn’t me
standing here before you,
telling you,
bragging
about how much I’ve
bled.

Figuratively.
And literally.
And it’s funny, now.
And I laugh about it, now.

But it is mine
to joke about.

Your privileged life and
vacuum of empathy do not give you
right to crack jokes at my suffering.

I take the blood in my hands and I
make finger paintings
and poems
and strength
and draw pictures
of jokes and humor.

I draw
really inappropriate pictures
of dicks because

I find really inappropriate pictures
of dicks to be
really fucking funny

and I laugh at them,
but you.

You don’t get to make
rape jokes or
gay jokes or
trans jokes or
racist jokes or
sexist jokes or
suicide jokes.

You don’t get to paint shit
with other people’s blood.

Although I have been drained,
I’ve never been empty,
so no,
you don’t get to use me as a canvas.

Get your own fucking band-aid.

This is my parade
and right now, you
are in the sidelines.

You can take your
“just a joke” -s
and
“lol triggered”
and
“chill”
and
shove them up your

happy poem.

Because that’s what this is, right?

This isn’t just you being an asshole.

This isn’t just you being full of shit?

This is my happy poem.

One thought on “a happy poem.

Leave a Reply

